Our People

Taylor Angeli

Taylor Angeli

Email: tangeli@uoguelph.ca

Degree Type: Major Paper

Research Interests: The lasting effects of the criminal justice system, with a focus on youth crime, mental heal issues, and policy.

Jessica Barbosa

Jessica Barbosa

Email: barbosaj@uoguelph.ca

Degree Type: Thesis

Research Interest: Safeguards against police conduct, police accountability and oversight in Toronto, and the attitudes of Judges in these cases.

Ella Bender

Ella Bender

Email: ebender@uoguelph.ca

Degree Type: Course-based

Research Interest: the association between youth drug use and recidivism, and whether drug related extrajudicial measures (e.g., addiction counselling) ordered by the court are effective in reducing recidivism analyzing the behaviour and patterns of mass murderers and serial killers

Ciara Boyd

Ciara Boyd

Email: boydc@uoguelph.ca

Degree Type: Thesis

Research Interest: Key differences in the motivational factors for mass killings in Canada and the United States.

Jordie Brown

Jordie Brown

Email: jbrown64@uoguelph.ca

Degree Type: Course-based

Research Interest: The availability and impact of sex trafficking education and awareness at establishments where recruitment and exploitation are most likely to occur.

Jamie

Jamie-Lee Cracknell-Bossenberry

Email: jbossenb@uoguelph.ca 

Degree Type: Thesis

Research Interest: Human trafficking, community-oriented policing.

Jacob Dubeau

Jacob Dubeau

Email: jdubeau@uoguelph.ca

Degree Type: Course-Based

Research Interest: Effectiveness of situation tables as a form of crime prevention, with a focus on the Gateway Hub in North Bay.

Kelly Hatt

Kelly Hatt

Email: khatt@uoguelph.ca

Degree Type: Thesis

Research Interest: The effect of case precedents and the role of the prosecution and police when determining the admissibility of confessions in Mr. Big operations.

Taranpreet Heer

Taranpreet Heer

Email: heert@uoguelph.ca

Degree Type: Major Paper

Research Interest: Racism, racial profiling, and more specifically, the border crossing experiences of visible minorities in a post 9/11 context.

Keast-O'Donovan, Kona

Kona Keast-O'Donovan

Email: kkeastod@uoguelph.ca

Degree Type: Course-Based

Research Interest: The factors of decision making for those who repeatedly reoffend, reoffend while escalating the severity of their crimes, or remain dormant and comply with societal norms from that point forward.

Emma Kelly

Emma Kelly

Email: ckelly08@uoguelph.ca 

Degree Type: Major Paper

Research Interest: LGBTQ+ individuals’ experiences of violent victimization.

Annalise Kennedy

Annalise Kennedy

Email: akenne13@uoguelph.ca 

Degree Type: 

Research Interest: reforming the prison system in Canada; wrongful convictions; Violence against women and prevention efforts

Meghan Machado

Meghan Machado

Email: machadom@uoguelph.ca

Degree Type: Thesis

Research Interest: Corrections and Canadian drug policies, particularly harm reduction approaches available in society and how they can be applied to offenders serving sentences within Canada’s criminal justice system.

Lindsay Maharaj

Lindsay Maharaj

Email: lmahar01@uoguelph.ca

Degree Type: Major Paper

Research Interest: The credibility of undercover police operations such as Mr. Big operations and how such extremities of coercion could potentially abuse rights.

Danielle McNabb

Danielle McNabb

Email: dmcnabb@uoguelph.ca

Degree Type: Thesis

Research Interest: The justice gap between legislative reform in sexual assault cases, and continued underreporting and low rates of conviction.

Becky McRae

Becky McRae

Email: bmcrae01@uoguelph.ca

Degree Type: Thesis

Research Interest: The effect juvenile parole conditions have on the reintegration process and how it can impact the rate of recidivism for young offenders.

 Julio Mejia

Julio Mejia

Email: jmejia@uoguelph.ca 

Degree Type: Thesis

Research Interest: private-public collaboration as a possible public policy tool that could contribute to the security deficiency of Colombia.

Deanna

Deanna Mikkelsen

Email: mikkelsd@uoguelph.ca

Degree Type: Course-based

Research Interest: criminal justice system and the corresponding effect on its personnel / how public policy is questioned or changed as a result relationship between North American police forces and gender.

Kathryn Nairne

Kathryn Nairne

Email: knairne@uoguelph.ca

Degree Type: Major Paper

Research Interest: How the jury selection process promotes racial bias through the utilization of peremptory challenges.

Jenaya Nixon

Email: nixonj@uoguelph.ca

Degree Type: Thesis

Research Interest: The potential discrepancies between bail legislation and reform and the reality of bail, accused peoples’ experiences of bail, and long-term trends.

Michaela Pollon

Michaela Pollon

Email: mpollon@uoguelph.ca

Degree Type: Major Paper

Research Interest: Gendered/racialized violence and the impact of sexual assault myths on victimization in sexual assault proceedings within the criminal justice system.

Aleeyah Samuels

Aleeyah Samuels

Email: samuelsa@uoguelph.ca

Degree Type: Thesis

Research Interest: How young offenders have been sentenced, and whether the type of sentencing has influenced recidivism rates.

Niya Shrestha

Niya Shrestha

Email: nshres17@guelphhumber.ca

Degree type: Thesis

Research interest: Cyber crime, specifically technology-facilitated sexual violence.

Melania Soudouk

Email: msoudouk@uoguelph.ca

Degree Type: Major Paper

Research Interest: the discernment of sexual assault testimony as valid evidence in the courtroom based on factors such as race, sex, and age, etc.

Sabrina Sousa

Sabrina Sousa

Email: ssousa@uoguelph.ca

Degree Type: Major Paper

Research Interest: Wrongful convictions & false confessions, as well as the societal and criminal justice system response to violence against women.

 

Charlotte Tenszen

Charlotte Tenszen

Email: ctenszen@uoguelph.ca

Degree Type: Course-Based

Research Interest: The effects of gender politics and the politics of sexuality on Canada’s criminal justice policies.

Dalia Zaherddine

Email: dzahredd@uoguelph.ca 

Degree Type: Course-based

Research Interest: youth justice

Angelika Zecha

Angelika Zecha

Email: azecha@uoguelph.ca

Degree Type: Thesis

Research Interest: Intimate partner violence victimization and the Canadian criminal justice system’s response to cases of intimate partner violence.